New Years Resolutions?

February 10, 2010

Friends,

I have been looking at my ever-aging blog posts every time I logged on to LinkedIn.  I kept telling myself it was time to write something new. So, in the spirit of the new year, I will work to be more reliable in my posting.

It seems that the economy is improving slightly, although both sides are so politicized and polarized it’s hard to know what to believe.  Whether the economy is technically improving or not, the anecdotal evidence suggests that employment is still lagging and it looks like it will for the rest of the year.

Think of this time as an opportunity. If you are an employer, it’s an opportunity to get your company ready when the economy does improve. By ready, I mean ready to attract and retain more than your share of smart, effective and motivated people–the PWACs I wrote about last year in the book.

If you are a PWAC, decide if the company you’re at is the company you’ll be staying with, and if you are unemployed, seize this opportunity to ASSESS what you love, what you hate and what you want to do next. RESIST the temptation to just replace your JOB. PS…when I say “hate” I mean do not compromise yourself and do something you don’t enjoy just because it pays the bills. Remember: the abolished debtors prison long long ago.  Take a moment, envision your better future and take MASSIVE ACTION.

More Later. GMS

Leave a Reply

